Documentation; 16/04/16 – A different shape for the branches, and further crystallisation

IMG_0296 IMG_0300 IMG_0301

The newest of my crystallised branches. For some reason the crystals have created a sort of ‘crust’ on the outside of the branch. This has resulted in a more stable and protective layer of crystals. Therefore, it is a lot denser with the crystals. An interesting result, I believe it’s due to a different concentration of Urea in the solution.

IMG_0336 IMG_0341 IMG_0342

As I have been working until the end of the deadline, but have been struggling with my own anxieties over the work not being finished, I have kept crystallising the last three branches that I created. I am struggling as I feel the work is finished, but still feel nervous due to always working right up until the deadline in other projects. Nevertheless, I have been practising with different hangings, and seeing how the three longest ‘lightning bolts’ look together. Although I do love the shape of the branches, and their swooping, crescent shaped form is certainly interesting; I have not tried it in my frame yet, and would like to. However, it doesn’t have the same ‘unity’ at the end of the shape; in the sense that the three branches come together and unite into one point (life, death and rebirth transcending through coming together.

Leave a Reply

