Documentation; 22/03/15 – Illness, and the final ‘Frame’

IMG_0206

The pieces of the top and bottom of the frame, before welding; testing the dimensions of the final ‘object’

DSC00378

IMG_0245

After a rather rough week last week, in which I was busy on Monday and Friday working on this frame; the three days in between were spent in bed due to a rather nasty viral infection. In addition to this, my laptop chose these period of time as the perfect time to get a BIOS error and collapse in on itself. So, I have been very stressed and run down, both physically, but also mentally. However, this week has been great so far, due to the fact that I have finally finished building the frame that the sculpture will stand within. The frame is a lot bigger than I initially expected; but this is not a problem, i felt as if I needed to create a larger sculpture, so that I have room to experiment with the varying heights and angles that the lightning bolts can hang at. Now  that I have created the frame, I can set about the final refinement of the sculpture before the final exhibition (very exciting!).

IMG_0249

The sombre colour of the metal, as well as it’s dirty and dusty exterior is really interesting to me. It’s a beautiful colour, despite being covered in grime. I guess this is related to the fact that the processes I have been looking at (decomposition and mold) are often regarded as ‘lowly’, and I have begun to appreciate this aesthetic.

IMG_0250

An example of the nuts and bolts that fit the frame together, holding it in place.

One thought on “Documentation; 22/03/15 – Illness, and the final ‘Frame’

Leave a Reply

