Documentation; 12/10/14

I have started to pick up steam in my work this week, it’s not all engines firing, but they are certainly warming up. Based on my research as of late, I have started to discover new methods of understanding the symbolism behind wings, and their relevance to transcendence unto the heavenly plane.

DSC_1666

As a regression to my work from last year, I began to look at primitive drawings of wings and birds to showcase the shamanistic worship of birds, in order to gather the ‘essence’ of these creatures, in order to attempt a way of ‘spiritually understanding’ the way that birds fly, and their ability to elevate away from the gravity that binds us humans to the earth. The way the work is painted reminds me of a form of abstract expressionism; it’s a bird, but an abstract representation, one that resembles a soaring bird, or possibly a crucified body.

DSC_1667

DSC_1664

Another concept that I have been exploring is the image of the Seraphim; The highest of angels that surround God on his throne are these creatures, which are fiery, six winged beings. Within the mythology surrounding the Christian and Catholic faiths, the more wings that a being has, the more powerful they are (God, theoretically, would have an infinite amount of wings, as his power is limitless. This concept is fascinating, as a being that is considered monstrous and terrifying to behold because of it’s supposed ‘Glory’, as well as it’s  level of power over humanity. Images of a holy trinity, of wings, and of steep symbolism and power are bouncing around within my head.

DSC_1660 DSC_1663

I have also experimented with a series of hand paintings, attempts at creating a simplistic, primitive way of painting. It’s strange, I do like the way that the work seems to reflect a primal understanding of the world inherent within my soul, inherent within the minds of all of humanity throughout the entirety of time. I love the way the black has transferred onto the paper; the way that the black seems scraped on, fading slowly into the white expanse of the paper, much like the cave paintings of old.

DSC_1670

I have also created a simple, clay bird for my bronze casting workshops; it’s a cute, curious little fella, being dead and all. It’s quite morose, cute in a little way.

Leave a Reply

