Formative Assessment; 24/03/14, Feedback Evaluation

Formative Assessment; 24/03/14, Feedback Evaluation

 

I’m well aware of the fact that this post is over a week late, but I only just received my feedback form from my tutorial, and therefore believe that this would be the best time in which to comment on my project up until this point, and where I intend to further develop the concepts within.

I began to discuss where my ‘alabaster crates’ were going, where the concepts for them began, and how I now create them almost subconciously. As well as ‘Gestalt’ Theory, the concept of ‘Entropy’ has also become a major philosophical addition to the melting pot of ideas surrounding this project, as I have begun to notice my interest in the crates stemming from them being an ‘essence’ of the city; something which holds reference, but not resemblance, to the city. Following this passage, David Fitzjohn put forth an interesting notion on the aspect of whitening the objects;

‘Through plastering the objects, you objectify them, you change them into something more than what they are.’

Like a gong being struck, there was a connection within my work that I had somehow missed. The act of whitening these objects unifies them, it removes their original function and moves them into the realms of Art. Of course, I had been confused as to what made my own white sculptures, and other contemporary white sculptures that I had seen, so different in artistic merit. Of course, it was this aspect of ‘transmuting’ that I was so interested in (a nod to the alchemy from before christmas here). The materiality of the objects seems to be the most important aspect within this transmutation, as they themselves are site-specific objects; ones that were found here in Cardiff, but possess so much history from the area that they resided in before I moved them. Again, entropy is seen here, and it fascinates me as much as it did before.

David also suggested the possibility of moving the objects to different areas, in order to view the changes that would be made to it from shifting the context. If I were to place them within a White cub environment, would they suddenly become more in touch with a contemporary Art vein? or would placement within the city prompt human interaction, whether it be positive or negative? these are something I will have to experiment with, as well as research.

Leave a Reply

