Sculpture & Documentation, 10/03/14

DSC_1008

I have been struggling today with concepts, but ruminated upon my work and felt like I was interested in the idea of spaces once more; taking note, I researched my previous projects about cocoons and the need for spiritual spaces within one’s life, to meditate within and reflect upon ourselves, and these ‘nests’ have proven interesting to me as a concept, maybe I will take this further?

I finally finished the ‘box’ that I was crafting, and was able to achieve the coat of whiteness that I had been working towards. The piece seems to blend into the background of the area, and likewise we see a sense of etherealness and hollowness within it, much like it is a ghost, or a remnant of the past. This aspect of memory is interesting, and likens the piece to an artefact, or to the suggestion of tensions that have long since evaporated.

DSC_1009

As I discussed the direction of my project with David Ferry during a tutorial today (further discussion on the tutorial will be seen in my next post), we discussed the nature of loneliness, and how although it is a very personal grief, it is not a quiet one. Loneliness can be likened to a scream that no-one hears, as one feels a massive need for human interaction and the joy of this stimulation, but they cannot get this point across for fear of being seen as weak and/or dependent, or their life causes them to not see other people, and this begins to wear down the mind of the viewer. I have experienced both of these, and this is why my project is focused on such a dark area (although I tried to incorporate the flowers earlier to cheer it up, it didn’t seem to do anything for it).

DSC_1010

I also crafted another plaster crate, this one has a far smoother coat and application however, and so has a much more effective appearance to the concept. There are still cracks and deformities here and there, but these all lend well to the aspect of an ‘artefact’, as well as the ideas surrounding my work with minimalism within the Sculpture Workshop. Here we see a tension from the string hold the crate to the wall; this aspect of tension lends well to the concepts of ‘loneliness’ being a tense, dark emotion, juxtaposed with the blankness of the plaster. It’s an interesting phenomenon for sure, but this is upon reflection, these experiments began with me just messing around with materials; understanding what works, and how it works.

DSC_1011

DSC_1015DSC_1017

I also revisited the ‘space’ for Sculpture, and realised that it is actually quite a beautiful place; The desolation of it adds to the serenity of it, and the walls contribute much to the privacy of the space. I sat at base camp for around half an hour, and just took in the essence of the space; the wind flew through my hair, and the rubbish that littered the corners did not smell, it was as if this land was designed for someone to meditate in. As I said before, it holds the essence of a city, and it’s deplorable state only lends to this fact.

DSC_1018

I was also able to procure a few more large Crates from the space, as the remaining lot are now smaller, more contained baskets, lacking the ‘stripped’ aspect of the larger ones. I have also thought back to the nest idea, and also to my interest in minimalism. I have an idea to craft these crates into a greater Gestalt structure; one that will hopefully create an essenc eof tension, but also of protection from outside forces; a space we can see, but never experience (much like the Edens).

DSC_1026

This is the final structure, resembling a cage, or even a nest. Around 5ft Square, it looms ominously out from the wall, creating a tension and unease around it. Much like the theories of Gravity utilised in Minimalism, we see that the aspect of the piece being able to fall at any moment is incredibly important to the way that the piece fits together. It is a simple piece, but I believe it works incredibly well. It is more of a sculpture about feeling, the showcase of loneliness on the soul, and the resulting tension that surrounds a shout that cannot be heard.

DSC_1027DSC_1028

The materiality of the crates itself is beautiful, they themselves tell their own story, but when brought together like this; they all amalgamate into one deep, resounding shout.

Leave a Reply

