Sculpture Side Project 2

As this side project goes on, I have come to realise how interesting Sculpture actually is; as mentioned in the previous post about Minimalism, I have grown increasingly interested in Minimalism and the use of material forms within sculpture, and so this seems like a great coincidence between the various aspects of my Course. Whilst searching for my ‘space’ for the project, I actually came across a lot of troubles when researching potential ‘spaces’; I found a few prospective spaces throughout Cardiff, during a search that lasted around two days, but finally found one (ironically) not very far away from University. A desolate space that has been cordoned off by a large fence, it holds the remnants of a city, but not the essence of a city, which creates an interesting atmosphere in the space.

DSC_0914 DSC_0892 DSC_0897 DSC_0902 DSC_0904 DSC_0910 DSC_0912

As you can see, the space is quite large, but is also quite desolate. This aspect of ‘decay’ is something that has always interested me as an artist, and so I can see myself really relating with this space. As a response to the area, I created a few sketches;

DSC_0934

The first Sketch details an area of the space that I saw when I first sat down at my ‘Base Camp’, a tire in the middle of the area, seemingly put there just for me.

DSC_0936

The second sketch was my response to the space, I walked across it and drew any shapes or forms I saw whilst walking. It created an interesting response that seems to hold a tangibility between the objects.

DSC_0921 DSC_0922 DSC_0923 DSC_0924 DSC_0925 DSC_0927

Something that I noticed about the space is that there was a great deal of fruit packaging crates (more than likely because of the large amount of restaurants situated on City Road, where the space is near to), but I loved the simplicity within their design, as well as the decay that had afflicted the wood that they were crafted from. I am intendign to paint one as soon as I can, in order to explore the aspect of tarnishing, especially with the way that the paint will crack and peel as it dries and ages.

Leave a Reply

