Sculpture side Project: Update & Documentation 25/02/14

phyllida-barlow-20_main_image

‘Swamp’, Phyllida Barlow 2010

At the moment, I am also partaking in a side-project within my course on Monday afternoons; a project about Sculpture. Of course, i’ve been crafting sculptures for a while within my artistic career, but through a conversation with my tutor Hywel, a window into the intricacies of the world of Sculpture have been opened up to me; theories of abstraction, of materials and the placement and location of a sculpture being as necessary to it’s success as the sculpture itself. There are 8 Important factors when concerning a Sculpture;

Space – Where it is placed, How it relates to the space? and vice-versa.

Volume – How dense is it? How large is it overall within it’s space?

Weight – How heavy is it? Does it hang? can we perceive the weight, and is it an important part of the piece?

Time – How long does it take for us, as humans, to move around it?

Scale – In relation to our own bodies.

Obstruction – Does it cause us to make a diversion? Does it obstruct sight or movement?

Presence – How does it make us feel? How do we connect with this object?

Memory – What lasting effect does it have on us? Does it trigger anything within our memories?

There are such differences in what I initially perceived Sculpture to be, and what I understand of it now, and I know there is still an awful lot for me to learn about this subject, which is why I intend to dive into it headfirst.

In the first week, we were tasked with ‘Challenging a Space’, changing how we, as humans, interacted with it; through obstruction, diversion, or any form of surrealism and distortion we could think up. I chose my Bed within my room as my ‘test subject’, and began to perceive it as an elongated shape, much like a box. I then hung both my bed sheets and my duvet off of a ‘Web’, and turned my bed into a Cave (more like a tunnel), that could only be accessed from the bottom of itself. A successful experiment, I thought to myself, as seen in the images below.

IMGP0604 IMGP0605 IMGP0606 IMGP0607 IMGP0608

(A rather distorted Sarah sits within the ‘Den’. Creepy)

DSC_0871

After this initial week, we were then tasked with finding a space within the city, one which we could call out ‘own’ and coming to complete terms with it; drawing, mapping, photographing etc. Until we could perceive the space with our eyes closed. I took off with firm vigor, and attempted to find a space that I connected with. At first, I found this abandoned house, and although I could not get inside of it, I felt a strange connection with it. After further speculation though, the allure of this abandoned house was very different than the feeling of a city, and I have left it to be explored another day.

DSC_0872 DSC_0874 DSC_0875 DSC_0876

I then wandered around Cardiff for another hour until I came across this bridge near Bute town, and felt a fascination with it. It lies under the track that guides the Queen street – Cardiff Bay train, and through either side you can see the two different areas of Butetown; one is renovated, clean, and shows an area that seems to be aiming for a more developed theme. The other side, however, is far more ‘Run-down’ and ‘Rough’, and this duality separated by a single track is VERY interesting. Although the tunnel itself MAY not be the space I am looking for, this aspect of ‘different sides of the track’ does in fact interest me a great deal.

DSC_0882 DSC_0881 DSC_0880 DSC_0879 DSC_0878

Today, I experimented with a form of sculpture that captured a ‘Space’, after reading up on a previous concept I had held for my ‘Cocoon’ project (see here; https://ethangrantdodd.wordpress.com/2013/11/03/evolution-of-my-artwork-cocoons-to-an-embrace/) In which I wanted to attach the cocoons to the inside of structures made from dismantled and then reassembled furniture (a door was the most common object that I thought of, as my room was my spiritual space at the time). I then thought about the creation of a box-like structure, that is painted white and allows only a brief amount of light in; crafting a space in which the viewer can only see, but not be a part of; an isolated area. I will paint this space as soon as I can, in order to test out my theory.

Leave a Reply

