Nigredo

My first ever attempt at performance art, as well as my first attempt at an alchemical ritual. I believe it went well despite this and despite the interruption I experienced at around halfway through the video.

There i a lot of symbolism here; I light the candles surrounding the seal of solomon on the floor to achieve a higher level of transience, as well as imbue the ritualistic circle with an aspect of mysticality. I utilised metal dust, the remnants of a dead bird and black oily matter, ash, earth and fire, all relevant to the dark and putrifying aspects of the Nigredo stage. It in itself is a realisation of our own inherent sin, and is the means of removing it before the purifying of the Albedo stage.

I will relive the ritual again, I do not like it as much.

Leave a Reply

