My fascination with the Heart as a symbol of Humanity

My fascination with the Heart as a symbol of Humanity

This theme and concept is actually increasing at an exponential rate, to the point that it’s all I can seem to think about at this moment in time. What is it about this symbol that draws e to it? Despite my own fascinations with gore, I still cringe when thinking of my own fleshy innards, and the fact that there is bloody squirting and pushing its away around every little capillary and vein in my body.

It’s fascinating and beautiful at the same time. At first, I preferred this piece a lot more, and although like it still, I do intend to experiment a lot more with the concept and idea. I do love the way that it fades away into the background though, which is reminiscent of life and humans fading into the mists of time naturally. Once again, my anxieties over death have come into play but have pushed through another interesting way of working.

(It reminds me an awful lot of Bryan Christie’s work in a way though. see here: https://ethangrantdodd.wordpress.com/2013/10/08/twelve-portraits-bryan-christie-mixed-media-2012/’

Leave a Reply

